Boundaries and Filters

So this is the question of the hour.  As I begin blogging again, what will I write about and what topics will be taboo?  One of my daughters-in-law says that I have “no filter” and she is probably right.  I’m working on that.  But I’ve ended up in hot water at times.  My words have offended.

But, in defense of myself, I know I have also encouraged and inspired.

My writing here will be more about life now in the Panhandle of Idaho.  My topics will be more homey and less exotic.  Idaho is a far distance and a far cry from Uganda, certainly one of my most treasured happy places.  So here in the very small town of St. Maries, do I write about what’s happening?  What if nothing is happening?

Do I share my prayers and my journal entries?  Do I avoid politics and the issues of the day?  Do I talk about family?  Dare I?  A boast will have to be equal-opportunity.  I cannot leave anyone out.

But then my blogging becomes cumbersome and unnatural and more like a dreaded “Christmas letter.”

So, Lord, please direct me. Make me wise.  Keep me from offending but also make me bold.  Take my writing and use it to your glory.  May it be therapeutic for me and for others.  May I speak your truths with profundity and sensitivity.  May each step I take honor you and serve to bless others.

On another note, Lord, make my writing for me a fulfillment of a desperate need. Use me and speak to me as I write what you inspire.  Keep me on task and careful with my time.  You have given me the needed solitude and beautiful quiet I need to truly concentrate.  May I be grateful.  Amen.

About travelinggrace

Christ followers, husband and wife, father and mother, Grandfather and Grandmother, pastor and consultant, teacher and student, missionaries and founders of Leaders for Uganda, Purpose Driven practitioners, trusting in His grace and mercy as we seek to be wholly yielded to His plan. You will find here various posts, updates, original stories and reflections. We appreciate your comments and feedback.
This entry was posted in Various spaces and places. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.