From Journal to Blog

When I was blogging regularly, I was happy with myself and probably a little bit proud.  Through the years I have been consistent about journaling my prayers and thoughts. For years I journaled on my computer and titled my journal entries, Good Morning, Lord.  This writing blessed me and helped me clarify my thinking.  It was critical for me to call out to the Lord during the periods of heartbreak and extreme difficulties.  I always wrote more and did so more faithfully when I was desperate to feel the Lord’s presence.

I began using journals within devotional books and then later I used blank, lined journals.  Today I use blank journal inserts placed in a lovely leather cover.  I like its feel. My journals have their own home, a book shelf in my bedroom that holds more than 30 full journals.  What I have written is personal but it is also there for the curious eye.  I hope to someday use my journals for compiling my memoirs.

Most recently, there has not been a crisis in my life and I have not been inspired to write like I once did. Also, my life’s routine has changed dramatically.  Most nights I am up late waiting for my daughter to return from work.  I watch the granddaughters and put them to bed.  When Mommy gets home, she and I talk for a long time.  I’m seldom in bed before 11:00 pm.  I then sleep in and my quiet morning is thrown off, interrupted with the granddaughters, with course work grading, and with life.  There is no longer a particular time set aside for Bible Study, prayer, and journaling.  It’s a hit and miss thing and may be as seldom as four times a week. I still refer to my journaling but it is more to give an example of my strategy for undistracted prayer times.  There certainly is no consistency to boast of.

Like the perfect Father he is, my Lord often gets my attention and then I have to write. I am compelled to reach for my journal and my favorite pen.  I simply must write.  I cannot continue with life until I do.

Come, Lord Jesus, I need you,

Come, Sweet Jesus, I pray,

Come, in your strength and your power,

Come, in your own gentle way (author unknown).

Today you prompted me, Lord, to listen to Voddie Baucham and his words were indeed you getting my attention.  Yes, his voice was today the voice of God.  I claim your power now in my testimony and my witness.  You are at work in my life and I will more boldly share my faith to your glory.  Amen.

https://voddiebaucham.org/Voddie Baucham   Image result for voddie baucham

About travelinggrace

Christ followers, husband and wife, father and mother, Grandfather and Grandmother, pastor and consultant, teacher and student, missionaries and founders of Leaders for Uganda, Purpose Driven practitioners, trusting in His grace and mercy as we seek to be wholly yielded to His plan. You will find here various posts, updates, original stories and reflections. We appreciate your comments and feedback.
This entry was posted in Various spaces and places. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.